Squid Salad

August 7, 2011 at 4:11 PM 1 comment

RECIPE REVIEW #66  calamari with salsa verde and arugula

Time for another first for me, calamari or “squid”.  I have had fried calamari so was very excited to try it cooked differently.  Calamari is a protein and is good for the immune system.  It is also a good source of iron, calcium, and vitamin A & C.  Japan consumes the most squid in the world.

Arugula is a leafy vegetable.  It is native to the Mediterranean.  The nutrient profile is very similar to spinach.  It is high in vitamin A, C, & K, folate, and potassium.

The calamari was hard to cut, I should have used a sharper knife maybe.  Not a difficult recipe but I did not care for it.  I think it was the calamari, it was chewy.  The flavor of the salsa verde was good.  The dish was high in protein and low in carbohydrates.  The Weight Watchers points is 5.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Gazpacho! Lemon Chicken

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Potato Salad « Mastering My Metabolism  |  August 13, 2011 at 3:29 PM

    […] potato salad before.  I just have to determine what protein I will have with it.  It includes arugula which should make it different from the typical potato […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other subscribers