Final Thoughts

December 25, 2011 at 2:26 PM Leave a comment

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

I am completing my blog today.  I am leaving you with my top 5 recipe selections and my final thoughts on this adventure.

TOP 5 RECIPES

fudge brownies – I have made these brownies several times and it is actually the first recipe I made from the cookbook after I purchased it.  They are very chocolaty and so low in calories.  The brownies are a great dessert for those trying to lose weight.

tomato, avocado, and cheddar burrito – This was an easy delicious option for a “sandwich”.  I love fresh tomatoes and the avocado was a bonus.  Toasting the burrito enhanced the great flavors of all the ingredients.

golden apple crisp – I made this recipe a couple of times too.  It was throughly enjoyed by a group of friends I entertained.  The crisp was amazing.  I will continue to make this dish for a healthy dessert.

mediterranean pizza – I had to choose this recipe because pizza is my favorite food.  This vegetarian pizza fit the bill.  I enjoyed the whole-wheat crust and making my own pizza.  It was not difficult and worth the health benefits of making your own pizza.

roasted salmon with pepita and cumin seed crust – This was the biggest surprise for me.  I have never really liked salmon.  This version was absolutely awesome!  A great dish for guests.

Every recipe in the snacks chapter was good and I expect to use those dishes frequently.  The most appreciated food find during the process was the pearl couscous.  I liked the texture of the this couscous better than traditional couscous.

KNOWLEDGE GAINED

This blog has been quite an experience.  I did not feel much pressure and had a lot fun making the recipes.  I did gain plenty of  knowledge about food, eating healthy, and cooking.  The biggest learning is cooking and preparing food is NOT that bad.  Especially when it can be quick and produce delicious meals.  Most of the recipes in this cookbook took around 30 minutes to make.  You can fit it in to your busy life. I also found out not to take cooking so seriously.  I always try to follow recipes exactly and that is not always necessary.  I enjoyed sharing the dishes with people I care about and they really appreciate a great tasting healthy meal.  Some of the recipes encouraged me to try foods I have never had which was an experience.  Healthy eating is not difficult, it is about planning, and making it a priority.  Food can taste amazing and still be good for you!

If you followed my blog, I appreciate your interest and time.  I still would love to hear your feedback.  I also highly recommend this cookbook, The Master Your Metabolism Cookbook by Jillian Michaels.  It will give you some guidance on the proper way to proceed to a healthy way of eating.

Thanks again for you support!

I am off to the next adventure in my life journey.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chapter Favorites

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other subscribers