Green Soup

December 10, 2011 at 6:39 PM Leave a comment

RECIPE REVIEW #123  autumn greens soup

I am back and ready to finish this thing!  I’m excited yet sad that I have almost made it through the entire cookbook, The Master Your Metabolism Cookbook by Jillian Michaels.  It has been very rewarding and educational, but enough about that for now.  I am making a soup today.  It is full of healthy ingredients including; chard, leeks, and potatoes.

The leek is a vegetable that is in the onion and garlic family.  It looks like a large green onion and usually only the white part is used.  Leeks are commonly added to potato soup.  The other flavorful ingredient being added is Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese.  It will be shaved on top of the soup.  The recipe also suggested using the cheese rind in the soup stock to add even more great flavor.

I am back to chopping again.  Other than that the soup was a breeze.  It is very green with the chard leaves.  It is not your typical creamy potato soup but a broth type soup with shreds of chard and chunks of potatoes.  The soup was ok, it was a bit bland.  You can tell it is very nutritious.  The shredded greens made it interesting to eat.   Not sure I would make this one again.  I hope I didn’t save all the ok recipes until the end. Two more to go…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Poached Salmon Sardines?

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other subscribers